The ultimate shame:@Pontifex

Posted on December 9, 2012

4


I have always been against the pope. Not this one in particular, any pope. My aversion does not come from my atheism: since I was young and a believer, I have always disliked the fact that a man, a mere mortal, someone that I am sure during his childhood left some scarps in the plate despite the millions of people who starve around the world, the same person -I am sure- who during his adolescence, whether he wanted it or not, must have had a boner, must have felt the uncurbed impulse to touch himself and, who knows, maybe he did (Catholics keep breathing). I am sure the same person must have lied during his life, even the smallest, innocuous white lie that however made him imperfect, not suitable to cover the role of mediator between human beings and God.
How can a human think to be the closest  living being to God and therefore he self-declares as a leader, a guide, a shepherd, someone better than someone else, entitled to forgive our sins when he himself, being made of bones and flesh, has sinned too?
That’s the first thing I don’t like about the pope: the contradiction ( and the superfluity) of his existence. And do not tell me that believers need a guide, someone who shows them the right approach to life because believers need only the feeling that burns inside their soul, that stubborn and admirable strength that pushes them beyond any difficulty, any temptation to give up, any immoral behavior and lead them to seek, to tremble but never to lose the hope, the faith, the strong belief that a wonderful and fair place does exist. It’s just matter of time. This, to me, is powerful enough for a believer to find the right way to follow, within his soul and his mind, without the need of a guide, unless it’s spiritual, intangible, made of concepts and emotions.  And do you know why such a guide would be good?  Because an idea, a feeling, a code of behavior, a belief, a book cannot cheat, or steal money, or wear Prada shoes while condemning selfishness and promoting altruism; such a guide cannot ask for money, cannot evade taxation and, most of all, cannot rape little kids.

I love Jesus, his good heart, his blind naivety, his endless altruism, the sacrifice he made but I hate my religions ( oh well… my parent’s religion, I care to distance myself) because is full of contradictions and because it pivots on self-punishment. The bible begins with our sin, a sin to which there is no remedy, whose redemption can be maybe achieved only through punishments, self-introspection and humiliation. And when the self-introspection and the self- punishments are over, here they come priests, cardinals, bishops, archbishops and ultimately the pope and all of them, with their bejeweled indexes pointed at us, order: “You recite with me: God please forgive me because I have sinned.”
Catholicism is, to me, unfair, deceitful, repetitive till the point it becomes a beguiling art; oddly enough Catholics are defined by the Bible itself as “flock”.  And on the principle of a hierarchy from which there is no escape, the Pope and his flunkies base their power. And this power is intoxicating, overwhelming and it ends up affecting us. The ultimate (desperate?) attempt to the Church not to lose followers is now the social network Twitter, a way to feel close to the flock that has just found a free field where they can graze grass in holy peace (ooops).
But no, it could not last long. In three days, on the 12th of December @Pontifex will be on Twitter and, as if this was not outrageous enough, the Pope App will be soon available for I-phone and it: “provides live streaming of papal events and video feeds from the Vatican’s six webcams. ‘The Pope App’ also will send out alerts and links to top stories coming out of the Vatican’s news outlets.”
Oh my God.
It has to be said.

Posted in: Uncategorized